The first post

“I’ve never regretted doing it as a degree. I could wish to know more than I know, but it’s one of the most splendidly broad biological educations you can have … As an adjunct to travel … it’s absolutely splendid. You can’t look out a window anywhere without being fascinated, and having a feeling for whatever it is you’re looking at.”

Professor Nancy Millis, on agriculture 

I’m fascinated by agriculture – both the scientific and cultural aspects. I studied agricultural science at University, and went on to a PhD in animal science. I was a research scientist. I have been (and arguably still am) a science communicator in agriculture. Now, I’ve returned to research to try and understand how people think about agriculture.

Here, I plan on sharing my work, and the work of others in this space ‘between the scientific and the social, cultural and historical aspects of food and fibre production’.

Leave a comment